Forum Menu




 


Log in Problems?
New User? Sign Up!
AVR Freaks Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
GeneStemple
PostPosted: Sep 30, 2009 - 01:58 AM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 30, 2009
Posts: 3


I have a problem with upgrading Studio 4 & AVRISP. I had a working configuration on Windows 95 (Studio 4 v. 4.06 b 223). I installed Windows XP on another machine and downloaded Studio 4 v. 4.17 b 666; it installed o.k. as far as I can tell. Upon connecting to the AVRISP programmer it prompted me to upgrade the firmware to a current version and I did so. As others in the forum have noted, AVRISP communication was then lost.
I followed the DN_010.PDF directions to manually reprogram the AVRISP device with the stk500.ebm file. That process (after some trial and error) completed and indicated that verification was successful. Nevertheless, AVRISP communication still fails. I also ran the upgrade.exe file, which went through all the erase, program, verify, steps but did not give a usable AVRISP link.
Here are the relevant versions:
AVRISP (Mk I) a genuine Atmel product purchased many years ago; NOT a 3rd party board or a clone. In the "Advanced" tab of "Tools -> AVR Prog" it reports "AVR ISP", Target SW rev. 3.1, Device signature 00 01 02.
On-board chips are: 90S1200 and 90LS8535.
Studio 4, version 4.17, build 666.

The connect dialog box (AVRISP, COM1) fails with an error message "connect failed." At one point, among many trials, a connect attempt gave an error message "Please finish upgrading before reconnect." I have not been able to reproduce that condition after running upgrade.exe.
A target board is patched to supply only 3.3 Vcc and Gnd and SCK. Without the SCK there is "no supported board found." With SCK there is "connect failed." (Without SCK the manual program mode fails.)

I am not intending to do anything fancy with ISP, just flash and EEPROM programming from .hex files from the Atmel assembler, so maybe an earlier version of the AVRISP firmware is the best choice. I see references to V2 of the communication protocol required for the current version of Studio 4 so maybe I would have to "downgrade" Studio 4 to an earlier version if the AVRISP (Mk I) hardware cannot support that protocol.
Hoping that somebody has ideas to try or, better yet, a clear solution.
...Gene...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
js
PostPosted: Sep 30, 2009 - 02:36 AM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Mar 28, 2001
Posts: 22238
Location: Sydney, Australia (Gum trees, Koalas and Kangaroos, No Edelweiss)

Quote:
On-board chips are: 90S1200 and 90LS8535.
Studio 4, version 4.17, build 666.
I have one of those and it still works. The only thing I can think of is that at some time the protocol changed and the old firmware cannot communicate.

If you can get hold of one of the early Studio like 4.9 may still work. You can also try and do a manual upgrade as described in the help file for the AVRISP in Studio.

_________________
John Samperi
Ampertronics Pty. Ltd.
www.ampertronics.com.au
* Electronic Design * Custom Products * Contract Assembly
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
GeneStemple
PostPosted: Sep 30, 2009 - 11:10 PM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 30, 2009
Posts: 3


John, and other viewers...
Bit the bullet and uninstalled AVR Studio 4, v.4.17. Browsing the Atmel site for Studio 4 older versions I chose 4.13 as the oldest version still readily available (maybe older "legacy" ones are archived somewhere). Downloaded and installed 4.13 build 528 and also 4.13SP2 build 571.
Made no other changes. Powered up AVRISP, connected to target board, got the proper red/green blinkies. Started Studio 4 and tried a "connect" (selecting AVRISP/STK500 and COM1). HOT DOG! Got a normal connection with messages: "AVRISP with V2 firmware found on COM1" and "HW rev 0x0f, SW major 0x02, SW minor 0x0a". The connection AVRISP->target appears normal, so far, although I've only done a read of device signature, fuses, and lock bits.
I see a "STK500.ebn" file in ...\AVR Tools\STK500\ but I'm not going to load/program it. Studio 4 does not complain about any mismatch of version numbers.
It is possible that Studio 4.14, 4.15, or 4.16 might also work. I leave that exercise to some ambitious reader. I probably should have downgraded to 4.16 and then continued downgrades only if AVRISP communication failed. But they are big files and I could have ended up doing 4 downgrades only to end up where I am now. Don't know.
I'll go out on a limb and surmise that 4.17 has a bug in AVRISP (Mk I) communication or is otherwise not compatible with that old device.
G'Day,
..Gene..
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
js
PostPosted: Sep 30, 2009 - 11:53 PM
10k+ Postman


Joined: Mar 28, 2001
Posts: 22238
Location: Sydney, Australia (Gum trees, Koalas and Kangaroos, No Edelweiss)

Many of us never had the problem as we always get upgrades in order to get the latest bugs.. Confused

I have V4.11 to V4.17 (minus V4.15) if you need something in between, but they are huge files.

_________________
John Samperi
Ampertronics Pty. Ltd.
www.ampertronics.com.au
* Electronic Design * Custom Products * Contract Assembly
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Reply with quote Back to top
GeneStemple
PostPosted: Oct 03, 2009 - 01:34 AM
Newbie


Joined: Sep 30, 2009
Posts: 3


Versions 4.13 thru 4.17 are on the Atmel download page. That's partly why I chose 4.13 (as far back as possible). I am curious about the 4.14 thru 4.17 versions but satisfied to have a known working version and I'll stick with it. Yeah, they are BIG files, order of 100 MB.
I see another thread Re: STK500 cannot connect with v4.17. Looks like very similar symptoms and is reported to work in v4.16.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
newbie123
PostPosted: Oct 03, 2009 - 09:04 PM
Hangaround


Joined: May 05, 2005
Posts: 217


I think after a certain version (not 100% sure), AVR Studio supports the atmega8535 and not the at90LS8535. I bricked my AVRISP MK1 every single time I tried to upgrade it. The upgrade always works with an atmega setup such as the AVRISP MK2.

Somewhere I downloaded a home made version of the AVRISP with the 90S8535 in order to get the code to fix my bricked unit. I think it was called ispRE. Now if I want to upgrade, I test it on the homemade unit first!!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits